Yardworks 20V vs. Worx 20V Battery (Bench Test)
A Yardworks and Worx battery can share a 20V-class label without being safe or compatible across tools. Confirm the exact battery and tool models, electrical limits, connector terminals, and any sensing contacts before testing. Compare capacity only with a controlled, protected load. Without manufacturer approval or verified engineering checks, do not use a cross-platform adapter.
A dead battery just before yard work can turn a simple trim or cleanup job into a frustrating search for a replacement. It is tempting to try the other brand’s pack, especially when both say “20V.” But that label alone cannot tell you whether the pack fits, whether the tool can read it, or whether either system will protect the cells correctly.
I compare battery platforms by model number and measured performance, not by color, shape, or a brief power-on. The key limit here is that no specific Yardworks or Worx battery and tool models have been provided. So there is no verified model-to-model compatibility result or genuine test result to report. The steps below show how to check safely and what a valid bench test can establish.
Identify Battery and Tool Models; Inspect Connectors and Safety
The model number identifies the specific battery and tool you need to compare. Record both, then use their labels and manuals to check voltage, capacity, chemistry, current limits, charger requirements, and connector details. A shared voltage class is only one part of the check; it does not confirm that the packs can safely power each other’s tools.
Start by photographing the labels on the Yardworks battery, Worx battery, and each tool you want to assess. Record model numbers exactly, including letters and suffixes. Battery specifications can differ within one brand’s product range, so do not treat all Yardworks or all Worx packs as identical.
Both brands market products in a 20V class. For many lithium-ion tool platforms, “20V max” describes voltage near a full charge, while nominal voltage is about 18V. Confirm what the specific pack label and manual state. Do not infer cell layout, maximum charge voltage, discharge-current rating, or low-voltage cutoff from the 20V label.
| Check | What to record | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Battery and tool model | Full model numbers | Shows which manuals and compatibility lists apply |
| Chemistry and capacity | Chemistry, Ah, Wh, if listed | Defines pack type and rated energy |
| Electrical limits | Charge voltage, discharge limit, cutoff, if published | Sets safe test and operating bounds |
| Connector | Shape, polarity, terminal labels, latch | Fit alone does not confirm correct wiring |
| Extra contacts | Temperature-sense or communication pins | Tool and pack may rely on these for protection |
Inspect the connector and case without opening the battery. Look for cracked plastic, corrosion, damaged contacts, swelling, or an unusual hot spot. Check the manufacturer’s safety notices and recall information for the exact model. Do not test a pack that is damaged, swollen, unusually hot, or unstable.
A connector can have power terminals plus extra contacts for temperature sensing or communication. The exact terminal assignments and protection behavior are model-specific. Never force a pack into a tool or probe terminals by guesswork. If a manual does not identify the contacts, treat their function as unknown.
Run a Controlled 20V-Pack Bench Test
A bench test measures how a battery behaves under a known electrical load; it is not just a voltage check. Use a battery analyzer or current-limited electronic load with overcurrent, undervoltage, and temperature protection. Set it only within the battery maker’s published continuous-discharge limit and the tool’s suitable operating range.
First, read the pack manual for permitted test conditions, discharge limits, and cutoff instructions. There is no universal safe test current or cutoff for all 20V-class batteries. If the manufacturer does not publish a continuous discharge limit or an appropriate cutoff, do not guess. Use a qualified battery service or test lab instead.
Set up the test on a noncombustible surface in a ventilated area, away from flammable material. Keep the pack secured, use the analyzer as directed, and test each battery separately. Do not short terminals, bypass battery protection, or connect packs together.
For each pack, record:
- Starting voltage, measured with suitable equipment and a safe method.
- The controlled load setting and test duration.
- Voltage under load and any voltage sag.
- Delivered capacity in amp-hours (Ah) and energy in watt-hours (Wh), if the analyzer measures them.
- Pack temperature during the test and at the end.
- The cutoff used and the source that specifies it.
Voltage sag is the drop in voltage while a load is applied. It can help show how a pack responds to that particular load, but it is not a stand-alone measure of capacity or overall health. A voltage reading with no load cannot show how many amp-hours or watt-hours remain available.
Stop at the manufacturer-specified cutoff or immediately if you notice unusual heating, odor, swelling, unstable voltage, or another abnormal condition. Do not continue a test in hopes of getting a larger capacity number. Disconnect the load, let the pack cool, and record the result. Recharge only with the designated charger.
Compare Results and Verify Platform Compatibility
A fair comparison uses the same controlled load, test method, cutoff basis, and starting conditions for both batteries. Compare delivered Ah or Wh only when those conditions match. A higher result in one test does not prove that the battery is safe in the other brand’s tool or that it will perform the same way under a mower, trimmer, or blower load.
If the labels and manuals list different capacity units, convert only when the voltage basis is clear. Watt-hours measure energy; amp-hours measure charge. They are related by voltage, but Ah figures alone can be misleading when comparing packs with different nominal voltages.
| Result | How to use it | What it does not prove |
|---|---|---|
| Starting voltage | Confirms the measured starting state | Remaining capacity or tool compatibility |
| Voltage under the same load | Compares response in that test | Performance under every tool load |
| Delivered Ah or Wh to the specified cutoff | Compares usable output in that test | Exact runtime in real yard work |
| Temperature change | Flags a need to stop and review conditions | A universal pass/fail threshold |
| Connector fit | Shows the pack can physically seat | Correct polarity, sensing, or protection |
Treat a battery as compatible only if the manufacturer explicitly lists that battery for that tool, or a qualified engineer has checked the electrical limits, polarity, sensing or communication contacts, protection behavior, and mechanical retention. A pack that powers on briefly has not passed those checks.
An adapter is not proof of compatibility. Cross-platform adapters or improvised wiring may leave out temperature sensing, communication, battery-management protection, or low-voltage cutoff. A tool could then over-discharge cells or draw more current than the pack allows, risking damage, fire, or injury. Do not use an unverified adapter or jumper wiring.
What a Model-Specific Bench Result Should Say
A useful report names every battery and tool model, the analyzer, load setting, test conditions, cutoff source, delivered Ah and Wh, voltage under load, and temperature observations. It should also say whether manufacturer compatibility was confirmed. Without those details, a “pass” or “better battery” claim is difficult to check or apply to your equipment.
Because no exact model numbers or measured results are available here, I cannot give a verified Yardworks-versus-Worx capacity ranking. The sound conclusion is narrower: compare performance only after identifying the exact packs and using like-for-like test conditions; confirm tool compatibility separately.
Recharge, Store, and Retest Batteries Safely
After a test, disconnect the analyzer and let the battery cool before handling or charging. Use only the charger specified for that pack. Store and maintain the batteries according to their manuals, and record model, test date, settings, and results so the next comparison uses the same method.
Do not try to “reset” an error by repeatedly inserting a questionable battery or testing it in another brand’s tool. Check the charger and battery manuals for the meaning of any flashing code, then inspect the contacts for dirt or damage without scraping or bridging them. If the code remains, contact the manufacturer or an authorized service provider.
For seasonal tracking, write down the pack’s model, rated capacity, test load, cutoff, measured Ah or Wh, and temperature. Retest only with the same safe setup and manufacturer limits. A change in measured output can be useful, but it should be compared under matching conditions, not against an unrelated test or a voltage reading alone.
Illustrative Cases: What the Test Can and Cannot Tell You
These examples describe how to apply the method; they are not reported Yardworks or Worx test results. In both cases, model numbers and manufacturer documentation must be checked before drawing a real conclusion.
Case 1: The pack slides into the other tool. Physical fit may seem promising, but the terminal layout, polarity, temperature contact, or communication method may differ. Do not switch the tool on to find out. Check the exact compatibility list or seek qualified verification first.
Case 2: One battery gives a higher Wh result. If both packs were tested at the same permitted load and manufacturer-specified cutoff, that result supports a comparison of delivered energy under those conditions. It does not establish cross-brand compatibility, predict exact runtime, or show that the pack can handle a different tool’s peak current.
The practical next step is simple: find both model numbers, check the manuals, and test only if the published limits support a controlled test. If a key limit or terminal function is unknown, stop before connecting the pack.
FAQ
These answers address the common checks that decide whether a battery comparison is useful and whether a cross-brand connection is safe. Model-specific manuals and compatibility lists take priority over a general 20V label. When a required limit or connector function is unknown, do not assume it.
Are Yardworks and Worx 20V batteries interchangeable?
Not based on the 20V label alone. Confirm that the exact battery model is listed for the exact tool, or have a qualified engineer verify electrical limits, polarity, sensing, protection, and retention.
Does “20V max” mean 20 volts during use?
Not necessarily. On many lithium-ion tool platforms, “20V max” refers to voltage near a full charge, while nominal voltage is about 18V. Check the specific battery label and manual.
Can I use an adapter to fit one brand’s battery to the other brand’s tool?
Do not use an unverified adapter. It may not preserve temperature sensing, communication, overcurrent protection, or low-voltage cutoff, even if the tool powers on.
What should I compare in a battery bench test?
Compare voltage under the same controlled load, delivered Ah or Wh to the manufacturer-specified cutoff, and temperature observations. Record the setup and test conditions for both packs.
Is a voltage reading enough to judge battery capacity?
No. Voltage alone is not a capacity test. Capacity or energy comparison requires a controlled discharge with suitable equipment and an appropriate cutoff.
What test current should I use?
There is no universal safe current. Use a current within the battery maker’s published continuous-discharge limit and suitable for the tool’s operating range. If the limit is not published, do not guess.
What if the battery manual does not state a discharge limit or cutoff?
Do not choose your own values. Ask the manufacturer or use a qualified battery test lab with suitable procedures and protection.
Should I test a swollen, cracked, or hot battery?
No. Do not load-test or charge a damaged, swollen, unusually hot, or unstable pack. Keep it away from use and follow the manufacturer’s safety guidance.
Can the battery with more watt-hours run longer?
It may deliver more energy under the same test conditions, but real runtime depends on the tool and how it is used. A higher Wh result does not prove tool compatibility.
What should I do if a charger flashes an error code?
Check the exact charger and battery manuals for that code. Inspect for visible damage and dirty contacts without bridging terminals. If the error continues, contact the manufacturer or authorized service.
(This article was written by one of our staff writers, Harrison Croft. Visit our Meet the Team page.)
